Date: Mon, 10 Mar 1997 19:21:51 -0500 (EST)
From: Reiner Knizia
Subject: Flinke Pinke/Quandary
I thought I should make a comment on Flinke Pinke/Quandary after reading Mike Siggins' review on the Game Cabinet. The German Flinke Pinke rules say "The colour of the played card and the colour of the taken share do not have to be the same" ie the two colours can, but don't have to be the same. It is interesting to note that even some German reviews have turned that into "The colour of the card and the taken share can not be the same". A nice example - but not the only one (eg En Garde) - of how confusion can create a new game variant, and in this case I never actually thought of it myself. Hence the Flinke Pinke and Quandary rules are the same on this point. Maybe we shouldn't write our rules too clearly to feed the imaginations of our players - just a thought!
Dr. Reiner Knizia
I know far too many gamers with overfed imaginations as things stand! I'll take a clear and articulate rule set over a muddy but thought provoking one any day.
Thanks for the clarification, Reiner!
The Game Cabinet - firstname.lastname@example.org - Ken Tidwell